Patrick Ness was born in the US in 1971, living in the western states of Hawaii, Washington and California, before moving to England in 1999.

He read English Literature at the University of Southern California, and worked as a corporate writer at a cable company, before the publication of his first novel, The Crash of Hennington, in 2003.

His second book was a collection of short stories, Topics About Which I Know Nothing (2004).

In 2008, he published the first in his ‘Chaos Walking’ trilogy for young adults, The Knife of Never Letting Go. It is set in a dystopian world where everyone can hear everyone else’s thoughts. This book won the 2008 Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize and the Booktrust Teenage Prize, and was shortlisted for the 2009 Carnegie Medal. In 2009, the second book in the trilogy, The Ask and the Answer, won the Costa Children’s Book Award. The third book, Monsters of Men, was published in 2010.

Patrick Ness has taught Creative Writing at Oxford University, and written journalism and criticism for the Sunday Telegraph, the Daily Telegraph, and the Times Literary Supplement. He currently reviews books for The Guardian.

He has also been a Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund, and in 2009 was the first Writer in Residence for Booktrust.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s